2017.2.5

Art is really in the whispers.

– Duane Michals

2 0 1 7 :  J A N U A R Y  

It’s the gray/brown winter of the Great American Midwest. Mostly a time for me to hibernate and look at what other artists are working on.

Occasionally, the dull clouds of the St. Louis skies part and I’m able to get out in the cold and look for my next opportunity.

I created these five images on days when I was excited by the possibilities of making new photos and found the lighting and timing to be just right. I’m being more selective about my work, especially when considering why I’m releasing the shutter.

I N  T H E  N E W S  

Our local public broadcast station, Nine Network of Public Media, chose selected images from my book, Larry Torno Photo: Volume Two, to be a part of the January 16 broadcast of Living St. Louis. I was honored to be invited to participate in the show and am thankful to producer Ruth Ezell for her kind words and beautiful presentation.

View the Larry Torno Photo: Volume Two book . . .

http://www.blurb.com/b/7428673-larry-torno-photo-volume-two

View the Living St. Louis segment . . .

http://www.ninenet.org/blogs/living-st-louis/living-st-louis-photographs-by-larry-torno/ 

blog-nine-network

C O M I N G  S O O N  

In honor of the make-believe birthday of Barbie, America’s iconic doll, I am producing a new book called Larry Torno Photo: Volume Three. The issue will be released in March and features: photos from the 2009 exhibition, When Is A Doll Not A Doll, select images from the NeoClassically Barbie series, some observations of off-the-shelf Thrift Store Dolls, a study of a throwback 1959 Classic doll, and of course, an exploration of Nudes.

Look for more details to come on my Facebook page, Larry Torno Photo, and in the upcoming March 5th blog post.

blog-dsc_000

A L S O  H A P P E N I N G  

I am happy to announce that I was selected to be a co-juror for the Art St. Louis fall exhibition, The Golden Hour. Thank you to Robin Hirsch-Steinhoff for the invitation.

The Golden Hour is a juried visual art exhibition that features artworks about that perfect time of day when the light is just right; typically right after sunrise and before sunset. All explorations & interpretations of this theme are invited. All media, styles and techniques encouraged.

Please enter. I want to see your work. For details, http://www.artstlouis.org/index.php/exhibition-schedule/gallery-exhibitions 

S E E  Y O U  N E X T  T I M E  

Thanks for viewing the blog.

Share it with a friend. Sign up to follow the posts. Or let me hear from you at LarryTornoPhoto@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

